NAIOP Charlotte, the Commercial Real Estate Development Association, held its annual meeting on Wednesday, December 18, 2019, at the Charlotte City Club, where they elected the 2020 Board of Directors and announced the winner of their Award of Excellence. This award recognizes an individual who positively influences our community and industry. ­­­­Attendees also heard from Ron Kaufman, RNC National Committee; John Lassiter, Charlotte 2020 Host Committee; and Walter Price, Moore & Van Allen on the Republican National Convention coming to Charlotte in 2020 and its impact on the city’s economy.

Click Here for the Press Release
Click Here to View Event Photos


2020 Board of Directors

President – Scott Harris, Choate Construction 
President-Elect – Patrick Pierce, Selwyn Properties Secretary – Jason Moore, Rodgers Builders 
Treasurer – Welch Lyles, Asana Partners 
Immediate Past President – Tracy Dodson, City of Charlotte 
Past President – Cheryl Steele, Offit Kurman, P.A. 
*For a full list of the 2020 NAIOP Board of Directors, visit

Awards of Excellence


The recipient dutifully gives time and energy to a focused non-profit organization or community cause and humbly serves others in the community without concern for recognition or compensation.  He or she champions the commercial real estate industry on a national, state and/or local level and passionately seeks to be an agent for change, even in the face of diversity.  This person is seen as a real estate industry ambassador at any level of government or community.


The award is presented annually at the NAIOP Annual meeting.


2008 – Tim Bahr, NAI Southern Real Estate
2009 – Jon Morris, Beacon Partners
2010 – Chris Daly, Childress Klein Properties
2011 – Curtis Trenklebach, InterCon Building Corporation
2012 – Terry Brennan, Trinity Partners
2013 – Barry Leasure, GreerWalker and Joe Padilla, REBIC
2014 – David Allen, Trinity Partners (posthumous)
2015 – Chris Thomas, Childress Klein Properties
2017 – Scott Harris, Choate Construction
2018 – Dan Warren, Elliott Davis
2019 – Jason Moore, Rodgers Builders